[code][/code]

Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Discuss all PC Operating System and general software news, reviews, problems etc.
(Game discussions should be posted in The Games Room forum)
User avatar
whyscotty
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 am
Location: WIGAN . UK

Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #1 by whyscotty » Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:39 pm

Microsoft has been providing an early look at the next version of Windows, the company will be calling the new OS Windows 10.
Early photos and screenshtos have already appeared on the web , showing builds with a hybrid start menu combining
Windows 7-era features with Windows 8 style tiles.
Business customers are likely to receive early access soon, to begin testing and provide feedback.

http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/micros ... ws-10.html


6900K - 4.4 :D
Asus X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dom Plats 3200
Intel 750 400GB
1080 Classified
Phantek Glass

User avatar
Frenzic
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:01 am
Location: Woodbridge, United Kingdom

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #2 by Frenzic » Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:58 pm

I'l be interested in Windows 10 when it arrives :)
i7-4930K @ 4.4GHz|ASUS RIVF|Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti WF OC SLI|
16GB HyperX Beast 2400MHz|Corsair H80i|Corsair RM1000|
OCZ-Vertex450 256GB SSD|Corsair Carbide 500R|BenQ XL2720T

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2459
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #3 by huddy » Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:37 pm

Yes Windows 8 did focus too much on touch screens which has really failed to materialise and bear in mind that not every Windows user is a home users. We have 200 or so workstations at my office and I couldn't imagine for one moment every user adapting everyday life away from mouse and keyboard.

I'd like to see a more "Sleeker" and "open" approach to windows, removing some of the bloat it's collected over the years rather than concentrating on keeping up with the Jone's of other OS suppliers by suppliying a front end GUI that's basically already been done.

User avatar
cosimo
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 5:44 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #4 by cosimo » Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:57 am

[youtube]84NI5fjTfpQ[/youtube]

The technical preview is here now if you want a play:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/preview
Image

i5960X, Rampage V Extreme, 16GB 3000MHz RipJaws 4,
EVGA SC Titan X SLI, 2x 512GB Samsung 850 Pro, 512GB Vertex 4
Sound Blaster Z, Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX, NEC PA322UHD

Jam0r
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:51 am

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #5 by Jam0r » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:09 am

Installed on my work PC

8320 at 4.4GHz
8GB DDR3

Seems very snappy, more so than windows 8.1
5820k with NH-D15S
Asus X99-E
16GB DDR4 HyperX C13 2666mhz
FE 1070
Super Flower 1000W Plat

User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #6 by Gregster » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:11 am

Nice one and downloading now.
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

User avatar
ALXAndy
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1302
Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 9:00 pm

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #7 by ALXAndy » Thu Oct 02, 2014 12:23 pm

LOL like **** am I going to guinea pig my PC for free for M$.

I wouldn't even mind if you either got it free at the end, or a substantial discount. But no, spend ages installing it and messing around and you don't even get to keep it. The last evaluation OS I installed was Windows 2000.
Alienware Area 51 2014.
Image

User avatar
cosimo
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 5:44 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #8 by cosimo » Thu Oct 02, 2014 12:36 pm

Jam0r wrote:Installed on my work PC

8320 at 4.4GHz
8GB DDR3

Seems very snappy, more so than windows 8.1


Are all you your applications working?
Image

i5960X, Rampage V Extreme, 16GB 3000MHz RipJaws 4,
EVGA SC Titan X SLI, 2x 512GB Samsung 850 Pro, 512GB Vertex 4
Sound Blaster Z, Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX, NEC PA322UHD

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #9 by SuffolkBoy » Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:34 pm

Very tempted to give it a whirl on a spare drive..
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

User avatar
whyscotty
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 am
Location: WIGAN . UK

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #10 by whyscotty » Thu Oct 02, 2014 4:42 pm

Fully installed as main OS :o

Image

Everything good so far :mrgreen:
6900K - 4.4 :D
Asus X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dom Plats 3200
Intel 750 400GB
1080 Classified
Phantek Glass

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #11 by SuffolkBoy » Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:26 pm

Your risking it neil as main os :D
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #12 by Gregster » Thu Oct 02, 2014 8:54 pm

Well done Neil and I think I will sit on mine for a bit before fully commiting :D

Interested in your initial thoughts bud.
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

pgi947
Sergent
Sergent
Posts: 814
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:25 pm
Location: Aberdeen

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #13 by pgi947 » Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:27 pm

Will wipe my win 7 ssd at the weekend and take this for a whirl :)
4770K @ 4.7ghz - Z97 Xpower AC
8GB Trident-X 2400mhz
780 Phantom GLH SLI
Antec HCP Platinum 1000w - 3 x 256gb SSD
XSPC H2+

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #14 by SuffolkBoy » Fri Oct 03, 2014 7:48 am

Is dx12 in this build ?
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

User avatar
cosimo
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 5:44 pm
Location: London UK

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #15 by cosimo » Fri Oct 03, 2014 9:46 am

SuffolkBoy wrote:Is dx12 in this build ?


It will ship with 10:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/directx/archive ... ws-10.aspx

Maybe it will come in later builds. I suppose that you could try joining this:

https://onedrive.live.com/survey?resid= ... A2sYbeoepQ

and see what happens.
Image

i5960X, Rampage V Extreme, 16GB 3000MHz RipJaws 4,
EVGA SC Titan X SLI, 2x 512GB Samsung 850 Pro, 512GB Vertex 4
Sound Blaster Z, Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX, NEC PA322UHD

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #16 by SuffolkBoy » Sat Oct 04, 2014 9:02 am

Hows things running neil ? Games and stuff any probs ?
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

User avatar
whyscotty
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 am
Location: WIGAN . UK

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #17 by whyscotty » Sat Oct 04, 2014 11:09 am

Gone back to win 8.1 as certain stuff didn't work

All the games worked fine, just seemed that anything that needed system info had issues - ie Futuremark,CPUz etc

Looking forward to the full release :)
6900K - 4.4 :D
Asus X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dom Plats 3200
Intel 750 400GB
1080 Classified
Phantek Glass

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #18 by SuffolkBoy » Sat Oct 04, 2014 12:01 pm

Ah ok think ill wait then :D
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #19 by Gregster » Sat Oct 04, 2014 6:40 pm

Cheers for the heads up Neil. I have a week off from Monday, so will have a good fiddle with it then.
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

User avatar
Supreme
Cadet
Cadet
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 11:08 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #20 by Supreme » Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:44 pm

Any release date set for this yet?

User avatar
whyscotty
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 am
Location: WIGAN . UK

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #21 by whyscotty » Wed Jan 21, 2015 8:00 pm

Win10 free upgrade for win7/8 users :D

http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/window ... ws-10.html
6900K - 4.4 :D
Asus X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dom Plats 3200
Intel 750 400GB
1080 Classified
Phantek Glass

User avatar
Frenzic
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:01 am
Location: Woodbridge, United Kingdom

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #22 by Frenzic » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:19 am

whyscotty wrote:Win10 free upgrade for win7/8 users :D

http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/window ... ws-10.html

Do well, lets hope Windows 10 is as good as they say, not tried the pre-release but, for free will do me nicely :D
i7-4930K @ 4.4GHz|ASUS RIVF|Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti WF OC SLI|
16GB HyperX Beast 2400MHz|Corsair H80i|Corsair RM1000|
OCZ-Vertex450 256GB SSD|Corsair Carbide 500R|BenQ XL2720T

User avatar
meankeys
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm
Location: USA

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #23 by meankeys » Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:41 am

I tried a preview a few months ago I liked it. its a mix of win 7 and 8. not sure how it benches yet
Image

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2459
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #24 by huddy » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:42 am

Just read that news on my facebook feed. That's a good move by MS after their win 8.x failings.

User avatar
OverFienD
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 2926
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Parts unknown

Re: Microsoft skips Windows 9, its now Windows 10

Post #25 by OverFienD » Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:59 pm

So this being a free upgrade for a year, would this mean if i formated after a year, I would have to pay for the pleasure of having it back on my system.
i7-4790k//MSI Z97 MPOWER
8GB G-Skill DDR3-2666//R9 290 Windforce OC

CPU-i3 4130 @3.4//Asrock H81M-ITX
Case-Coolermaster 120
//PNY Geforce 460 GTX 1GB
http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197971927155/


Return to “PC Software”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron