[code][/code]

Gigabyte GA-X99-SOC champion

The place to discuss all topics relating to Motherboards and RAM.
Lurpack
Private
Private
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:58 pm

Re: Gigabyte GA-X99-SOC champion

Post #26 by Lurpack » Fri May 22, 2015 5:17 pm

This is a good board!!! Enjoy it. Use f4i or f4y bios for high mem and great stability.



Arne Saknussemm
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: Gigabyte GA-X99-SOC champion

Post #27 by Arne Saknussemm » Fri May 22, 2015 9:41 pm

Smart....roger that re. the bios....I'm just about to set her up :D

EDIT:

OK so I set it up and had a good thrash about in the BIOS...

First thoughts....I like my RVE :lol:

The BIOS is OK but it's not as good as it could or should be....prefer the classic mode to the new shinier version. Mouse is awful to use for some reason...tried two mice and still a PITA to navigate.

It is new to me of course so will take a few good sessions to get used to but some things just make no sense...fan speeds for example...

The board doesn't have enough fan headers for me....

But the final proof is in the OCing will get to that one of these days....

User avatar
jab383
Private
Private
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:58 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Gigabyte GA-X99-SOC champion

Post #28 by jab383 » Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:28 pm

Any more on this, Arne? I notice in the RAM thread above that you tuned DDR4 on the R5E rather than the SOC Champion.

Jeff

Arne Saknussemm
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: Gigabyte GA-X99-SOC champion

Post #29 by Arne Saknussemm » Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:55 pm

Hey Jeff...not really...it is a work in progress...and it will be delayed a bit because of circumstances. As I said I have fired up the Gigabyte board and had a look through the BIOS but since it is new to me I am going to need an extended period of time to go through the manual etc and sit and play with it before I can fairly compare it to the RVE.

Also I wanted to get a set of 3400 RAM to see if both boards could run it and I was saving up for that but I have hit a snag...CPU died on me recently so have had to postpone RAM purchase...

Also it is summer in Seville and that is not benching weather...so I'm afraid this is a long term project :o


Return to “Motherboards & RAM”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron