[code][/code]

Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Discuss all World Wide Web, Internet and general networking news, reviews, problems etc.
driftingforlife
Private
Private
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Gloucester, SW UK.
Contact:

Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #1 by driftingforlife » Sat May 02, 2015 7:32 pm

Most of us here are into our tech, gaming, overclocking but for myself networking is a BIG interest to me, anybody else out there the same and what to show off what you have?


Team GB Joint Head

User avatar
Menthol
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:42 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #2 by Menthol » Sun May 03, 2015 2:42 am

No but I have been thinking of setting up a NAS, don't know a damn thing about them or setting them up

Arne Saknussemm
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #3 by Arne Saknussemm » Sun May 03, 2015 7:41 am

Hey drifting...only networking I have at the moment is my router :? :lol:

I too was thinking of getting some HDDs into an old x58 and making a home network...is that networking?

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #4 by nickolp1974 » Sun May 03, 2015 7:48 am

I have an Asustor with 2x 3tb reds which feeds my popcorn hour with film/music, the NAS is a brilliant bit of kit and so is the PCH but i have a few probs that you may be able to help with.
1. If i turned power off at the wall then then the popcorn cannot read the NAS without me changing its IP address, bit if a pain this as the mrs likes the power off at the wall, this is possibly a firmware problem on the PCH.

2. The main router is in my PC lair upstairs so i route the cable into the loft and through to the other end of the house, before exiting running down the outside wall and entering the lounge, as its just normal cat5/6 cable its sleeve has now deteriorated and is now causing a drop in transfer speeds from my PC to NAS, i was getting around 70 MB/s now only 11MB/s and alot of the time now it just stops. So either the cable needs replacing or i need another solution?? How are homeplugs?? What speeds can they reach??


My network config is

Router
^. ^
PC. ---- gigs switc > NAS > popcorn > TV > HC receiver
Image

User avatar
whyscotty
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 am
Location: WIGAN . UK

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #5 by whyscotty » Sun May 03, 2015 10:03 am

Menthol wrote:No but I have been thinking of setting up a NAS, don't know a damn thing about them or setting them up


Same here, would be great if some one could do an idiot's guide - and I mean an idiot's guide :lol:
6900K - 4.4 :D
Asus X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dom Plats 3200
Intel 750 400GB
1080 Classified
Phantek Glass

driftingforlife
Private
Private
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Gloucester, SW UK.
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #6 by driftingforlife » Sun May 03, 2015 10:31 am

Yes Arne that is network storage and that would work fine.

Nick

1. Never seen one before but a quick google shows them to be not the best especially firmware wise. Is it set to static or DHCP?

2. You can go with normal Cat5a and just feed it though a hosepipe for the out side section or you can get some external Cat5a. It defo need replacing.

Meth & Scotty

I have just bought a new NAS and 4 x 4TB WD Reds so i will see what i can do guide wise.
Team GB Joint Head

User avatar
nickolp1974
Officer Cadet
Officer Cadet
Posts: 1836
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:08 pm
Location: In the Pub

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #7 by nickolp1974 » Sun May 03, 2015 10:51 am

Yeah the firmwares all ways flaky on popcorn hours but there the best i have seen for picture quality.

What kind of speed would i see with homeplugs so i can do away with the cable, faster the better as i normally transfer films upto 25gb in size, also watch iplayer quite a bit.
Image

Arne Saknussemm
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #8 by Arne Saknussemm » Sun May 03, 2015 11:15 am

Hmmm...now you have sparked my interest...

I have been wanting to have a decent storage solution for backing up OS images and my photography...etc.

Since I have an old X58 computer downstairs I was thinking of buying a few HDDs and setting up a raid array, making a home network and bob's my uncle...but looking at these NAS thingys like this? https://www.worten.es/inicio/informatica/almacenamiento-y-redes/discos-duros/disco-duro-nas-western-digital-my-cloud-ex4.html?gclid=CNaJ8saopcUCFSzMtAodnTkAyg What is a good one by the way?

Are they better at the job? Or would raid 10 on a P6X58D Premium be just about as good...are they so specialised that they kick a normal PCs ass as a storage centre?

User avatar
kkn_
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 5:11 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #9 by kkn_ » Sun May 03, 2015 11:55 am

arne personaly i would go for raid 5/50.
4 drives in raid 5 or ( for example ) 6+ in 50 ( raid 5 you can loose 1 drive and stil have all data, raid 50 you can loose 2 drives and stil have all data. )
lets say you have 4 3TB drives and put them in raid 5, you will "loose" 1 drive since that will be the one you can switch out ( 9TB avalible compare to 12TB ).
here is some info about raid and how it works.

http://fatmin.com/2010/04/30/raid-level ... implified/
http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/the-en ... integrity/
http://blog.open-e.com/how-does-raid-5-work/

when it comes to raid 0 and 1 its more aimed for speeds.

and a qnap/nas box is more straight forward, but for PC you have freen4s.

here is some info about freenas and how to set it up and how to acces your files.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/2243748/ ... eenas.html
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/set-freena ... ess-files/
http://lifehacker.com/turn-an-old-compu ... -510023147

freenas is kinda like a nasbox but software made for PC.
a nasbox is almoast plug and play ( i dont have a nasbox my self so cant say how it works 100% )
depending on the nas boxes you buy comes down to what raid setup you will end up whit.
a 2 drive nasbox will end you up whit RAID 0, RAID 1, JBOD
a 4 drive one you will end up whit RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, RAID 6, RAID 10, JBOD, RAID 5 hot spare
a 6 drive you will end up whit RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, RAID 6, RAID 10, JBOD, RAID 5 hot spare, RAID 6 hot spare, RAID 10 hot spare
a 8 drive you will end up whit RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, RAID 6, RAID 10, JBOD, RAID 5 hot spare, RAID 6 hot spare, RAID 10 hot spare
these raid setups was taken from the QNAP boxes specs and "can" be the same on the other types of boxes.

BUT if you buy a raid card for a PC try and do your research first. ( i bummed out here and it ends up been expensive for me in the end ).
a raid setup on a PC is limited on what controllers you have on it, and what raid setup you can run whit like raid 0 or 1 or 5.
you can for example have 2 intel and 4 asmedia sata ports witch will limit you to 2 raid drives on intel and 4 on asmedia ( witch first is hardware raid and second is software raid ) that will limit you in the end.

Arne Saknussemm
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #10 by Arne Saknussemm » Sun May 03, 2015 1:19 pm

Cheers kkn! great info there!

There are 6 Intel SATA 3.0Gb/s on the board and supports RAID 0,1,5,10...so I reckon I'll look into getting a few drives and setting this up...

Like you say 4 drives in raid 5 would do me

User avatar
kkn_
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 5:11 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #11 by kkn_ » Sun May 03, 2015 1:23 pm

i guess you dont need a large storage so mabye 1tb or 2tb drives?

Arne Saknussemm
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #12 by Arne Saknussemm » Sun May 03, 2015 1:39 pm

Yeah I cull a lot of photos before I store so 2TB drives would be fine I reckon...though I have plans for video files from a drone... :geek:

User avatar
Menthol
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:42 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #13 by Menthol » Sun May 03, 2015 6:14 pm

Arne Saknussemm wrote:Yeah I cull a lot of photos before I store so 2TB drives would be fine I reckon...though I have plans for video files from a drone... :geek:


Drones, that looks like a lot of fun

zoomee
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #14 by zoomee » Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:28 pm

Networking I adore! endpoint is getting boring after 20 years in the game lol.

Home network is:

200Mb Virgin Media connected to Asus RT-AC3200 serving up DHCP and 3 wireless networks (2.4ghz for slow and older devices, 5ghz-1 for faster, 5ghz-2 (set to AC only) for fastest) - Tis a nice router, does AV network protection very well.

In turn this is connected to two switches - one Netgear GSS108E and some cheapo Trendnet 5 port gigabit switch in tuther room.

2 x Smart TV's, 1 x networked Amp (Yamaha v671 I think), - list is too long for devices but NAS box has been upgraded from a Synology 2 bay to a DS-415+ recently. Love Synology NAS's (had QNAP in the past but found they were lacking in the software updates department and taking too long to update components).

I can't recommend Synology NAS's enough - whilst they aren't up to spec with the hardware compared to a custom built NAS - its all about the software and how reliable and easy it is to use. Even the cheaper units kick ass over using custom boxes (most custom boxes are overkill unless your going to be running VM's etc on them).

The NAS box does all the media serving, streaming and downloading with its 3 x 3Tb WD Red's (setup in SHR mode (same as RAID 5 I think). It also has 1 x 2Tb Purple installed now for the CCTV folder - I've got 2 x hikvision IP cameras (back and front of the house) which is all accessible via smartphone / net etc.

Most of the stuff is hardwired (CAT5E) with only the mobile stuff using wireless.
4960x@4.7 / 16Gb@2400 / R9 290 / Custom W/C

User avatar
TX-OC
Private
Private
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 2:11 pm
Location: UK

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #15 by TX-OC » Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:12 pm

Networking is interesting to me, but I don't have any of the fancy networking stuff. I have an old laptop serving as a network drive on the LAN running windows 7, but it doesn't get any use tbh, I might look into setting up a proper NAS server. WIFI signal quality in my room isn't great, so I will soon get a cheap switch because I often need to connect more than 1 device to the internet, and i only have 1 cat5e cable going to my room.
Lenovo T430
1600x900 60hz (internal) + 1680x1050 120hz (external)
500gb 850 EVO
Core i5-3320M
HD 4000 + HD7970 MATRIX EGPU [GDC Beast]

Steering wheel: Logitech Driving Force GT

driftingforlife
Private
Private
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:33 pm
Location: Gloucester, SW UK.
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Network/Storage/Servers

Post #16 by driftingforlife » Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:55 am

Got the NAS running a trunk'd link now, just need a Duel network card for my PC.

Before

Image

After

Image

Image
Team GB Joint Head


Return to “Internet & Networking”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron