[code][/code]

** Virgin Media Discussion Topic **

Discuss all World Wide Web, Internet and general networking news, reviews, problems etc.
User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

** Virgin Media Discussion Topic **

Post #1 by SuffolkBoy » Wed Nov 13, 2013 1:13 pm

Wahoo!! Virgin media are giving its broadband customers a free upgrade next year! 100mb here we come I cant wait :D :D :D :D

http://www.neowin.net/news/virgin-media-upgrading-broadband-speeds-again-but-prices-are-going-up-too


i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Virgin Media Free Upgrade!!!

Post #2 by huddy » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:15 pm

I'll have to test mine tonight.. Not had any emails or anything but i had this was going to happen :)

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: Virgin Media Free Upgrade!!!

Post #3 by SuffolkBoy » Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:12 pm

Yeah not till after Xmas! I only noticed when I signed into my virgin media online and it was there :D
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #4 by huddy » Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:03 pm

Having my VMB upgraded to 100Mbps in May

Checks yours.

http://keepup.virginmedia.com/speedupgr ... tier_EM_73

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1594
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #5 by SuffolkBoy » Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:35 pm

June for me!! 100mb roll on wahoo :D
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

BaDBoY_uK
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #6 by BaDBoY_uK » Fri May 16, 2014 1:39 pm

Just got 152MB Virgin. I actually get 170MB/s on newsgroups

Epic!!
New rig incoming

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #7 by huddy » Fri May 16, 2014 2:09 pm

Seems i've been pushed back to September .. still on 60smeg

Idleman
Private
Private
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 3:32 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #8 by Idleman » Fri May 16, 2014 3:37 pm

Already got mine. :mrgreen:

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #9 by huddy » Fri May 16, 2014 3:47 pm

Looks like a telephone call is needed.. !!!

Idleman
Private
Private
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 3:32 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #10 by Idleman » Fri May 16, 2014 4:36 pm

huddy wrote:Looks like a telephone call is needed.. !!!


I would. When they done the 60meg upgrade, it was almost a year, from when they said i'd get it, to when I actually got it. And then it was only because I happen to mention it, that I found out that I could have had it a while back, but no one bothered to turn it on.
I think the VM website and CS is atrocious for the most part.

BaDBoY_uK
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #11 by BaDBoY_uK » Tue May 20, 2014 7:53 pm

171MB here for me
New rig incoming

jh30uk
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 3:38 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #12 by jh30uk » Tue May 20, 2014 9:24 pm

Assume you mean 171Mb/s and are on VM?

Even with the added on slice to get past overheads that is high, do a test please from a few severs on speedtest site.

http://www.speedtest.net/

zoomee
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #13 by zoomee » Wed May 21, 2014 7:54 pm

BaDBoY_uK wrote:171MB here for me


I feel cheated:

Image

:D
4960x@4.7 / 16Gb@2400 / R9 290 / Custom W/C

BaDBoY_uK
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #14 by BaDBoY_uK » Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:52 pm

A real dl it drops to 160ish but I want to win! ;)
New rig incoming

jh30uk
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 396
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 3:38 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #15 by jh30uk » Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:21 pm

Nice ninja edit and its not always about winning, and where is the png of result?

davido_labido
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat May 31, 2014 1:18 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #16 by davido_labido » Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:59 pm

Image

i feel cheated too =(

BaDBoY_uK
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 3:27 pm

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #17 by BaDBoY_uK » Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:55 pm

Not so special then

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3559610977

Newsgroups reports 171 though, so I'm sticking with that
New rig incoming

User avatar
khemist
Private
Private
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 12:56 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #18 by khemist » Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:11 pm

Image

Got my upgrade, very happy!.
Image

User avatar
huddy
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 2462
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:11 pm
Location: Chelmsford UK
Contact:

Re: Virgin Media BB upgrade

Post #19 by huddy » Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:30 pm

got what i thought was a free upgrade to 150meg. when i added "Sky Sports Season Pass" but turns out they've tied me into a bundle contract for 12 months. Cheeky sods.


Return to “Internet & Networking”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests