[code][/code]

sky fibre

Discuss all World Wide Web, Internet and general networking news, reviews, problems etc.
polardog
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:57 am

sky fibre

Post #1 by polardog » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:47 am

after much pisssing about on a live chat with a **** called abida! I have now signed up to fibre roll on 11th of Jan :-D

40mb down 10 up


a rail gun is for life

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: sky fibre

Post #2 by SuffolkBoy » Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:07 pm

Lucky Bugga :-(.. Nice upload as well!.. Were they rolling that out ??
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

polardog
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:57 am

Re: sky fibre

Post #3 by polardog » Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:36 pm

cant you get it in Ipswich?
a rail gun is for life

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: sky fibre

Post #4 by SuffolkBoy » Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:47 pm

Aint got a clue? Some areas i think! ill have to have a read up
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

polardog
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:57 am

Re: sky fibre

Post #5 by polardog » Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:28 pm

poxy sky !

jay@debian:~$ ping www.bbc.co.uk
PING www.bbc.net.uk (212.58.244.69) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from bbc-vip114.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.69): icmp_req=1 ttl=55 time=131 ms
64 bytes from bbc-vip114.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.69): icmp_req=2 ttl=55 time=139 ms
64 bytes from bbc-vip114.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.69): icmp_req=3 ttl=55 time=141 ms
64 bytes from bbc-vip114.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.69): icmp_req=4 ttl=55 time=143 ms
64 bytes from bbc-vip114.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.69): icmp_req=5 ttl=55 time=135 ms
64 bytes from bbc-vip114.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.69): icmp_req=6 ttl=55 time=140 ms
64 bytes from bbc-vip114.telhc.bbc.co.uk (212.58.244.69): icmp_req=7 ttl=55 time=138 ms
^C
--- www.bbc.net.uk ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 7 received, 0% packet loss, time 6007ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 131.661/138.692/143.528/3.676 ms



its a JOKE !
a rail gun is for life

User avatar
SuffolkBoy
El Presidente
El Presidente
Posts: 1591
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Ipswich,United Kingdom

Re: sky fibre

Post #6 by SuffolkBoy » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:32 pm

Has ya connection got any better dude ?
i7 2600k@4.5||Maximus V Formula||MSI Gaming 390X||16Gb TeamgroupExtreme 2600||Corsair H105||Phanteks Enthoo Pro M

polardog
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:57 am

Re: sky fibre

Post #7 by polardog » Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:03 pm

sort of! just pissed me off the other day I have some free time I could game ( rarely happens now) and my pings sucked.

Getting 40-50 now its not too bad I bet the exchange is busy hopefully will upgraded soon
a rail gun is for life

polardog
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:57 am

Re: sky fibre

Post #8 by polardog » Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:38 pm

fibre installs tomorrow but my exchange is full i think i am getting good download speeds but the pings suck ass! sometimes they are ok but then I get crap like tonight

160+ :(
a rail gun is for life

polardog
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:57 am

Re: sky fibre

Post #9 by polardog » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:15 am

--- Jan 8, 2013 6:03:58 AM
--- IP (wlan0) 192.168.0.4

PING www.bbc.net.uk (212.58.246.90) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from bbc-vip011.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk (212.58.246.90): icmp_seq=1 ttl=57 time=22.7 ms
64 bytes from bbc-vip011.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk (212.58.246.90): icmp_seq=2 ttl=57 time=22.4 ms
64 bytes from bbc-vip011.cwwtf.bbc.co.uk (212.58.246.90): icmp_seq=3 ttl=57 time=21.5 ms

--- www.bbc.net.uk ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2011ms
min = 21.576 ms
avg = 22.267 ms
max = 22.797 ms
mdev = 0.539 ms


bloody brilliant when its off peak, not so at peak hours still too many people trying to use it needs upgrading
a rail gun is for life

Ryan-3
Cadet
Cadet
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:26 pm
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Re: sky fibre

Post #10 by Ryan-3 » Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:02 pm

I have Sky Fibre Pro, but the speeds are only those i'd recieve with the standard package. Currently waiting on a response from the "Pro customer service team" so they can do a few line checks.

Once I know they've either found & sorted a problem or say there's nothing that can be done, i'll re-try using my Time Capsule as the router. :evil:
ImageImage

User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: sky fibre

Post #11 by Gregster » Sun Jun 22, 2014 7:26 pm

Are Sky not very good then?
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

User avatar
whyscotty
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:44 am
Location: WIGAN . UK

Re: sky fibre

Post #12 by whyscotty » Sun Jun 22, 2014 7:32 pm

Gregster wrote:Are Sky not very good then?


Nope, couldn't get away from them quick enough :(
6900K - 4.4 :D
Asus X99 Strix
Corsair ROG Dom Plats 3200
Intel 750 400GB
1080 Classified
Phantek Glass

Ryan-3
Cadet
Cadet
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 3:26 pm
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Re: sky fibre

Post #13 by Ryan-3 » Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:52 pm

I've never had any problems with stability, just the speed is annoying me.

The Time Capsule is now the router with the SR102 back in the box. Huzzah.

They've been fast when changing settings at their end and I often find their other customer services to be decent as they're local. 8-)

That said, their Pro team is questionable. The Sky forum is littered with complaints about them. :cry:
ImageImage

User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: sky fibre

Post #14 by Gregster » Sun Jun 22, 2014 10:29 pm

Ohhhh, I wanted to go Sky pro as well. Oh well, I will see how it goes and if it doesn't deliver, I will cry like a little girl till I get out of the contract :D
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

User avatar
FullMetalTony
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:41 am
Location: Sudbury, Suffolk, UK

Re: sky fibre

Post #15 by FullMetalTony » Mon Jun 23, 2014 1:38 pm

I've been on the 40Mb Sky unlimited for some months now and I can't fault it. Service has been rock solid and speeds consistent.

Bear in mind that while Sky is selling this, it's all piggy backed off BT's fibre network afaik.
i5 3570K; Asus P8Z77-V LX; 16GB 1600Mhz DDR3 (4x4GB); Sapphire reference R9 290; Antec 302 case; XFX Pro 550W PSU; 60GB SSD (OS) + 128GB SSD + 2TB Seagate Barracuda; Razer Naga Molten; Crappy stock Dell keyboard; BenQ GL2450; Sharkoon X-static digital surround 7.1 headphones

User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: sky fibre

Post #16 by Gregster » Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:16 pm

Yer it is on BT's network but I have had Sky broadband for the last 4 years ish and not had any trouble except a router failed and they wanted to charge me a fortune but soon came round to my way of thinking when I said I would cancel all of my Sky package (about £120 a month) Needless to say they sent it out free.
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

leckytech
Cadet
Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:29 pm

Re: sky fibre

Post #17 by leckytech » Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:54 am

I had been with O2 trouble free for years until the last year when latency was all over the place. Luckily fibre became available at my local cabinet [im sure due to me pestering the hell out of BT :) ] I tried to leave O2 which had changed to sky and they gave me an offer I couldnt refuse. Sky fibre 80/20 and I kid you not has completely changed our lives at home. No more shouting at the kids to get off netflix or youtube and I can download HD TV shows and movies in the blink of an eye. Sky's service had been absolutely briliiant, no throttling or any other nonsense, it just works!

The only thing that pissed me off is they have blocked moviebox along with most other isp's but as Im android now Im using showbox/avia/chromecast...happy days. [Chromecast is bloody awesome]

Oh and I have never used the supplied sky router apart from extracting the password off of it as its sh1te. I use an Asus N66U with Merlin's firmware which is brilliant!
CM 690 Advanced Case | Corsair AX1200 PSU | i7 Haswell 4770K | Corsair H100i CPU Cooler | MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming | 8GB G-Skill Trident 2400Mhz | EVGA GTX780 Classified | Samsung EVO 250GB SSD

User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: sky fibre

Post #18 by Gregster » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:36 am

So far so good with Sky. Also getting the full 76/20 and very happy with it.
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

zoomee
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 7:27 pm

Re: sky fibre

Post #19 by zoomee » Wed Jul 23, 2014 12:03 am

Its good when it works mate. Problem is when issues occur. Thats when you get to see the glorious fools at BT openreach in action, and will understand why I switched back to Virgin :(
4960x@4.7 / 16Gb@2400 / R9 290 / Custom W/C

User avatar
Gregster
Captain
Captain
Posts: 2883
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:57 pm
Location: Harwich, Essex
Contact:

Re: sky fibre

Post #20 by Gregster » Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:05 am

zoomee wrote:Its good when it works mate. Problem is when issues occur. Thats when you get to see the glorious fools at BT openreach in action, and will understand why I switched back to Virgin :(

Sadly, I can't get Virgin, so Sky or BT are my best options.
Image
3930K @ 4.625 - Tri SLI Titans - RIVF - 16GB Avexir 2133Mhz
EVGA 1300W G2 - XSPC H2 case - Fully water cooled with EK/XSPC
Asus ROG Swift Monitor - Logitech G19/G502/G25 peripherals

86JR
Cadet
Cadet
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:40 pm

Re: sky fibre

Post #21 by 86JR » Sat Jul 26, 2014 7:35 am

Get Zen Pro Unlimited!!!!

I never have above 13 ping on EU servers on BF4, both peak and off peak. No naughty sites are blocked unlike most UK isp's. I get 50 down and 15 up :) And, I live in Cornwall, so far from the dark fibre connection points.

Image
2500k @ 5ghz, GTX 690, Asus 27, Asrock something, HUGE noctua thing, 16gb DDR3, etc.

polardog
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:57 am

Re: sky fibre

Post #22 by polardog » Mon Sep 29, 2014 6:10 pm

how much?
a rail gun is for life

User avatar
Bigmender
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Harwich. Essex

Re: sky fibre

Post #23 by Bigmender » Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:01 am

Gregster wrote:Sadly, I can't get Virgin, so Sky or BT are my best options.


Virgin are not the best for gamers anyway. They have the fastest speeds in the Country but Latency is terrible with them as they share the lines so at busy times epsecially the quality can be very poor. This is why BT has the best internet in the uk as each person has their own dedicated line which means a consistent stable connection
Intel I7-4790k @4.4 ghz
Asus Maximus 6 Extreme Z87
XFX AMD RADEON FURY X
NZXT phantom enthusiast case - white


Return to “Internet & Networking”




  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron